Champions League: Spartak Moscow, Rubin Kazan in Europa League

The Russian teams in the Champions league, FC Spartak Moscow and Rubin Kazan, both managed to finish their groups in third place, guaranteeing a continuation in European competition, in the Europa League.

FC Spartak Moskva won the game against MSK Zilina, Slovakia by 2-1 but because Olympique Marseilles beat Chelsea (1-0), the Russian team goes down to the Europa League. Rubin Kazan lost 2-0 at Barcelona, the team they beat last season.

As for the other groups, in Group A, Tottenham Hotspur FC (England) and FC Internazionale Milano, Italy (the holders of the Champions League title) go through; in Group B, FC Schalke 04 (Germany) and Olympique Lyonnais (France); Group C Manchester United FC (England) and Valencia CF (Spain); Group D FC Barcelona (Spain) and FC Kobenhavn (Denmark, the first time a Danish team has made it to the last 16); Group E FC Bayern Munchen (Germany) and AS Roma (Italy); Group F Chelsea FC (England) and Olympique de Marseille (France); Group G Real Madrid CF (Spain) and AC Milan (Italy); Group H FC Shakhtar Donetsk (Ukraine) and Arsenal FC (England).

To the Europa League go FC Twente (Netherlands), SL Benfica (Portugal), Rangers FC (Scotland), FC Rubin Kazan (Russia), FC Basel 1893 (Switzerland), FC Spartak Moskva (Russia), AFC Ajax (Netherlands) and SC Braga (Portugal)

In the last 16 of the Champions League are 4 clubs from England (25%), 3 from Italy and Spain (18.75%), 2 from Germany and France (12.5%) and one from Ukraine and Denmark (0.06%)

Aleksei Federov

Subscribe to Pravda.Ru Telegram channel, Facebook, RSS!

Author`s name Timothy Bancroft-Hinchey