Results Of Montenegrin Parliamentary Elections Made Public

In the April 22 parliamentary ballot in Montenegro, the Victory Belongs to Montenegro alliance won 36 seats; the Together for Yugoslavia bloc garnered 33 seats; the Liberal Alliance received 6 seats; and the Democratic League of Albanians and the Democratic Alliance received one seat each. The two latter parties failed to overcome the bottom limit of 3 percent of the vote, but were nevertheless allotted one mandate each in Skupstina, in accordance with a special resolution applicable to areas with a predominantly Albanian population. The election returns have been made public in Podgorice by the Republican Election Commission. The participating parties and alliances have no right to appeal. All in all, four alliances and twelve political parties took part in the election race. Neither competitor received an overwhelming majority to be able to easily get necessary legislative acts through parliament. Presently, negotiations are underway to form party coalitions in Skupstina. According to reports from Montenegro, the most viable one at the moment seems to be the coalition between the Victory Belongs to Montenegro alliance and the Liberal Alliance. But even this bloc, advocating a referendum on the state status of Montenegro and its secession from the Yugoslav Federation, will not get a two-thirds majority in parliament.

Subscribe to Pravda.Ru Telegram channel, Facebook, RSS!

Author`s name Editorial Team