East African Economic Community formed

Tanzania, Kenya and Uganda form a Single space in East Africa as months of preparations are transformed into a document with far-reaching consequences for the continent which starts to address its problems with discipline and dedication.

Functioning within the African Union, a project to which Libyan leader Muammar Gaddafi is committed, this is the first of many special zones to appear in Africa. Presidents Daniel Arap Moi of Kenya, Benjamin Mkapa of Tanzania and Youeri Museveni of Uganda signed the document on Monday to create a single space in these three East African countries.

The single space will be more than an economic community. A regional court will be set up, presided over by the Kenyan judge, Moijo Ole Keiwa and a legislative chamber will be set up, which Tanzanian Abdulrahman Kinana will lead.