New Zealand wins rugby's Edinburgh Sevens championship

New Zealand won rugby's Edinburgh Sevens championship after front-runner Fiji was stunningly ousted by Wales in the quarterfinals.

New Zealand thrashed Samoa 34-5 in the final at Murrayfield, and ended up edging Fiji by two points for its seventh overall title in eight series.

Fiji entered the season's last tournament with a 10-point lead, and needed only to reach the semifinals to retain the world title.

But after cruising through its pool on Saturday, Fiji was shaded by Wales in their quarterfinal. They were 7-7 at halftime, and Wales went ahead again in the second half through tries by Tal Selley and Wayne Evans. Fiji closed to 21-14 with a try by Mesake Davu and appeared to have a chance of drawing level in the final moments but Semisi Naevo's try was ruled out because he knocked on.

Fiji ended up with silverware by winning the second-tier Plate final, but it marked Fiji's worst result of the season.

New Zealand, with its third win in eight tournaments, ended with 130 points, and two-time winners Fiji 128 and Samoa 122. It was Samoa's highest finish. South Africa, winner of the series opener in Dubai, was fourth with 92.

Samoa captain Uale Mai was suspended from the final for elbowing an opponent in the 24-14 semifinal win over Argentina.

New Zealand took advantage with two Adam Thompson tries and a brace by captain DJ Forbes straddling halftime. New Zealand led 24-5 by halftime and effectively sealed the result. Fautua Otto earned Samoa's try.

Tomasi Cama and Afeleke Pelenise also touched down to hand coach Gordon Tietjens his seventh world series.

New Zealand beat South Africa 19-12 in a physical quarterfinal and overwhelmed Wales 28-0 in the semifinals.

England won the Bowl and France the Shield.