San Jose's Dominic Kinnear wins MLS coach honors, Parkurst is top rookie

San Jose's Dominic Kinnear was selected Major League Soccer's Coach of the Year on Tuesday while Michael Parkhurst of the New England Revolution won Rookie of the Year honors.

Kinnear, despite major roster changes and key injuries, guided the Earthquakes to a league-best 64 points (18-10-4 record), only the second team in MLS history with more than 60 points in a season. San Jose became the first MLS club to go undefeated at home for an entire season.

Kinnear was in his second year as a head coach. With no player scoring more than nine goals during the season, the Earthquakes finished with a 14-game unbeaten streak (11-0-3). They surrendered a league-low 31 goals and set another MLS record for fewest losses in a season.

Parkhurst was one of only five players to start and play in every minute of every game during the 2005 regular season (32 starts, 2,880 minutes). The 21-year-old, who grew up a fan of the Revolution, gives the team consecutive Rookie of the Year winners. Clint Dempsey took the award in 2004.

The first selection by the Revolution in the 2005 MLS draft was whistled for only six fouls over the course of the season, anchoring a defense that gave up the second-fewest goals in the league (37). Parkhurst was also selected to the MLS All-Star team. The awards were determined in a vote by media, MLS players, coaches and general managers, AP reports.


Subscribe to Pravda.Ru Telegram channel, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, RSS!

Author`s name Editorial Team