Russia to ratify non-proliferation treaty

President Putin states that Russia intends to ratify the CTBT non-proliferation treaty, boycotted by the USA

This treaty prohibits the performance of nuclear tests and restricts proliferation of nuclear weapons to states which do not have them. The treaty was written in 1996 and has been signed by 161 countries, ratified by 85. It will become enforceable when 44 States with nuclear capacity ratify it. To date, only 31 have done so. India, Pakistan North Korea will not sign it and the USA and China refuse to ratify.

President Vladimir Putin declared in a communique issued by the Embassy of the Russian Federation that “We are convinced that an immediate entering into force of this treaty, making it universally applicable, will meet the interests of the world community”.

President Putin urged the USA to ratify this agreement immediately, because it is “the most important instrument” to limit proliferation of nuclear weapons and preserve the current state of strategic stability.

Russian Defence Minister Igor Sergeyev stated that “There are dangerous insinuations that the treaty may be annulled. This could result in a crisis for the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty and an increase in the spread of nuclear weapons” to countries which do not have them at present.


Subscribe to Pravda.Ru Telegram channel, Facebook, RSS!

Author`s name Editorial Team