Border regulations between Estonia and EU countries to remain in force until 2007

The border regulations currently in force between old and new members of the EU will remain in place until 2007 as the database containing information on the movement of people and goods between countries is still not ready for the current system to be dispensed with. According to Eesti Paevaleht newspaper, citizens of the new EU states will have to continue presenting their documents at the borders with EU countries for the next four years.

EU countries decided to scrap border regulations in 1995. In order to do this they adopted the Schengen electronic system which allows countries to exchange information about passengers and freight traveling between countries. The system is currently operative in 13 EU countries as well as Norway and Iceland. Only Great Britain and Ireland have yet to join as they are not members of the Schengen agreement.

Subscribe to Pravda.Ru Telegram channel, Facebook, RSS!

Author`s name Editorial Team