CSTO foreign ministers arrive at Kant air base

On Thursday, foreign ministers of the Collective Security Treaty Organization member countries are familiarizing themselves with the Russian air base in Kant, 30 km away from Bishkek, the capital of Kyrgyzstan.

On October 23, Russian president Vladimir Putin and Kyrgyz president Askar Akayev opened the air base.

The Russian military are staying in Kyrgyzstan within the framework of the air component of the Collective Rapid Deployment Force of Central Asia. The corresponding treaty will be valid for 15 years with subsequent automatic prolongation to be made every five years.

In compliance with the treaty, 501 servicemen and 149 civil personnel as well as 10 Su-25 and Su-27 fighters, a cargo An-26 plane, two Mi-8 helicopters and four L-39 training planes from the Kyrgyz air force will be deployed there.

Lieutenant-Colonel Andrei Samotsvet was appointed commander of the air base.

Russia will finance its modernization, acquisition of equipment and maintenance.

The planes deployed in the base will cover the Collective Rapid Deployment Forces of the Collective Security Treaty Organization and the 201st Russian division in Tajikistan from the air.

The military infrastructure to be created in the air base will have a well equipped runway which will allow, if necessary, to receive the military transport aviation.

The Collective Security Treaty Organization includes Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan and Tajikistan.

Subscribe to Pravda.Ru Telegram channel, Facebook, RSS!

Author`s name Editorial Team