At the Summit in Dyushambe the Formation of a New Military And Political Organisation Will Be Completed

The Dyushambe summit of the member-states of the Collective Security Treaty - Byelorussia, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kirghizia, Tajikistan and Armenia - on Monday will complete the juridical formation of a new international military and political organisation. As is expected, at the present session of the Collective Security Council the Presidents will approve the package of documents to regulate the activity and financing of the bodies of the Collective Security Treaty Organisation: the Permanent Council and the Joint Headquarters which will start functioning since January 1, 2004.

The session of the Collective Security Council in Moscow in May 2002 took a decision to transform the Collective Security Treaty into an international organisation, and on October 7, 2002 in Kishinev, the heads of state signed the Charter of this organisation and the agreement on its legal status. These documents imparted to the Treaty the status of an international organisation.

The session of the Collective Security Council in Dyushambe will consider the questions of perfecting and developing the Collective Rapid Deployment Forces in Central Asia and also the creation of a Russian air base on the military aerodrome in the town of Kant in Kirghizia.

Apart from that, as has been reported by the secretariat of the Collective Security Council, the session will also discuss the regional and international situation, the main tasks of the Collective Security Treaty Organisation and the perfection of the cooperation of its member-countries in foreign political affairs.

It is planned that on the results of the session the Presidents will adopt a political statement. The Council's secretariat does not exclude that at the summit in Dyushambe an agreement will be signed on the creation of a military base in the Tajik territory on the basis of the 201st Russian motorised rifle division.

Subscribe to Pravda.Ru Telegram channel, Facebook, RSS!

Author`s name Editorial Team