European Broadcasting Union to Hold Its Annual Technical Assembly in Moscow

The European Broadcasting Union will hold its 9th annual Technical Assembly in Moscow on April 24-25.

This year, on the invitation of the All-Russian State TV and Radio Broadcasting Company /VGTRK/, the Assembly's session will take place at the conference centre of the Aerostar hotel, the Rossiya TV channel's press service reported.

The assembly will involve over 100 representatives of 60 state and public broadcasters, members of the European, World, Asian, African and other broadcasting unions.

The assembly will consider issues of perspective development of equipment and technologies for TV and radio broadcasting, as well as problems of transfer to digital and information technologies.

The European Broadcasting Union, EBU, was set up in 1950 as an international body comprising state and public broadcasting organizations from European countries. It functions thanks to annual membership fees.

At present the EBU has 70 active members from 51 European countries, as well as 46 associate members from another 29 countries, the press service pointed out.

The Russian VGTRK, comprising such TV channels as Rossiya, Kultura, as well as RTR-Planeta and Radio Rossii, and the Pervy Kanal (the First Channel) are members of the EBU. The Union also comprises the Russian state radio broadcasters Mayak, Golos Rossii (Voice of Russia) and Radio Orfei, united under the common name Radiodom Ostankino, as well as about 90 regional state TV and radio broadcasters.

Subscribe to Pravda.Ru Telegram channel, Facebook, RSS!

Author`s name Editorial Team