GUAM heads of state to meet in Yalta on July 19-20

A summit of GUAM heads of state (Georgia, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Azerbaijan and Moldavia, with Uzbekistan now no longer its member) will take place in Yalta on July 19-20, Azerbaijan's Foreign Minister Vilayat Guliyev told journalists on Tuesday. According to him, in the course of the summit it is planned to sign a series of documents, including an agreement on setting up a free trade zone as part of GUAM, a declaration on stability and security, statutes of the Council of GUAM Foreign Ministers and of cooperation in separate areas between the association's countries, and a document on opening a GUAM information office in Kiev.

He indicated that also in Yalta the heads of state would decide on the status of GUAM observer.

Guliyev reported that representatives of a number of countries would be invited to Yalta's summit as guests. Among them are the US, Brazil, Turkey, Russia, Iran, Romania, Kazakhstan, Bulgaria, and Poland.