EurAsEC member states preparing Agreement on labor migration

Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Turkmenistan are preparing an Agreement on temporary labor activities of citizens of the EurAsEC member states on the territory of the Community's states", said Secretary General of the Eurasian Economic Community Grigory Rapota on Monday in an interview with RIA Novosti.

At present the document is being studied by experts in the EurAsEC countries, he added.

When speaking on the situation with labor migration, Rapota said the parties agreed that it was "vitally necessary" to provide jobs to citizens of other states, "the problem lies in streamlining this process".

On the one hand, it is necessary "to create normal, human conditions for those who come to earn money, and to protect their rights". On the other hand, there is a need "to protect economic rights of the states concerning taxation and observance of law".

When the law on Russian citizenship was at consideration at the State Duma, the lower chamber of the Russian parliament, "we asked to take into account the Agreement on a simplified procedure of granting citizenship that already existed between the Community's member states," Rapota said. It was ratified by five EurAsEC members and has the form of a law.

Moreover, "our constitutions have a clause that puts an international document above national legislation", the Secretary General pointed out.

Besides, the law on citizenship of the Russian Federation has a clause obliging Russia to comply with all international agreements signed with other EurAsEC member states, he added.

At present citizens of EurAsEC countries have certain privileges compared with citizens of other countries in receiving Russian citizenship, Rapota said.

Subscribe to Pravda.Ru Telegram channel, Facebook, RSS!

Author`s name Editorial Team