Stoltenberg awarded Sweden and Finland the status of invited countries

Finland and Sweden sign NATO accession protocols

From July 5, Sweden and Finland will be considered invited countries and will be able to participate in the work of NATO, NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg said.

"NATO Permanent Representatives have just signed accession protocols... Starting today, Sweden and Finland will have the status of invited countries and will participate in our discussions," he said.

In turn, Finnish Foreign Minister Pekka Haavisto expressed his country's readiness to "immediately begin work."

It is expected that after the signing of the accession protocol, Sweden and Finland will be sent for ratification by all members of the North Atlantic Alliance. According to media reports, this process may take several months.

Subscribe to Pravda.Ru Telegram channel, Facebook, RSS!

Author`s name Petr Ermilin