Major League Soccer awards best football-players

Major League Soccer named Brad Guzan best goalkeeper of the year, and New England Revolution defender Michael Parkhurst earned the league's fair play award on Wednesday.

The Columbus Crew won the team honor for fair play for having the fewest disciplinary points during the 2007 regular season.

Guzan led the voting ahead of the Houston Dynamo's Pat Onstad and the New England Revolution's Matt Reis.

In only his third year as a professional, Guzan topped the league with 13 shutouts, the second most in a season behind Tony Meola's 16 in 2000.

Chivas allowed only 28 goals this season, second fewest in an MLS season.

Parkhurst committed only five fouls and received no cautions or red cards in the 25 games he played this season.

The individual awards were determined by votes of the media, MLS players and MLS coaches and general managers.

Subscribe to Pravda.Ru Telegram channel, Facebook, RSS!

Author`s name Angela Antonova