Germany and Italy lose their Formula One races

Germany and Italy each lost one of their two Formula One races when the sport's governing body of the sport announced a 2007 calendar trimmed from 18 to 17 races.

The FIA released the new schedule Tuesday, saying it had been approved in a vote by its World Motor Sports Council, the AP says.

The two races dropped are the European Grand Prix, which has been held at Nuerburgring, and the San Marino GP at Imola.

The only addition to the 2007 calendar was the Belgian Grand Prix at Spa-Francorchamps, which returns after being dropped for this season.

Australia again replaces Bahrain as the first race of the 2007 season, which will open on March 18 in Melbourne. It will be followed by Malaysia on April 8 and Bahrain on April 15.

The season moves to Europe for the fourth race with the Spanish Grand Prix in Barcelona on May 13, followed by the Monaco GP on May 27.

The next two venues are in North American - the Canadian GP on June 10 followed a week later by the United States GP in Indianapolis.

The next seven races are in Europe, beginning with the French GP on July 1. It is followed by the British GP (July 8), German GP (July 22), Hungarian GP (Aug. 5), Turkish GP (Aug. 26), Italian GP (Sept. 9), and Belgium GP (Sept. 16).

The closing three races are set for China (Sept. 30), Japan (Oct. 7) and Brazil (Oct. 21).

Subscribe to Pravda.Ru Telegram channel, Facebook, RSS!

Author`s name Editorial Team