Uruguay 2 Rep. Korea 1

A magnificent half-hour as both teams provided the perfect answer to those who criticised this World Cup, forgetthat the knock-out soccer of the second phase is a perfect antidote to the tactical caution of the first.

Chungyoung hit the post on 5’ for Korea but Uruguay looked increasingly dangerous. Forlan’s shot was saved on 6’ and two minutes later, the same player worked the ball to Suarez, who only had to tap into an empty goal. 1-0 on 8’.

39’ A penalty in Uruguay’s favour was not given by the referee; handball in the area after a shot by Suarez. Uruguay ended the first half strongly, Maxi Pereira seeing his shot blocked after an excellent run.

What happened in the Uruguay boot room at half time, nobody will ever know. The Asian side came out fresher and more determined, while Uruguay seemed to think they had already won the game. Suarez’s shot was saved on 49’, after which is was wave upon wave of Korean attacks, Uruguay being incapable of controlling the game. Muslera saved from Jisung on 58’. Ten minutes later, Chungyong drew, 1-1, heading into an empty goal with five Korean players in the Uruguay area.

On 74’ Oscar Tabarez sent on Nicolas Lodeiro for Álvaro Pereira.. It resulted in spurring on a Uruguay team which had thought the game was in the bag. Suarez was saved on 74’, Perez blocked on 75’ and on 80’, Suarez curled a kick from outside the area into the goal. 2-1.

Uruguay: Muslera, Lugano, Godin (Victorino), Fucile, Cavani, Suarez (A. Fernandez), Forlan, A. Pereira (Lodeiro), Perez, M. Pereira, Arevalo Rios

Rep. Korea: Sungryong, Yonghyung, Jisung, Jungwoo, Chuyoung, Youngpyo, Jaesung (Donggook), Jungsoo, Sungyeung (Kihun), Chungyong, Duri

Uruguay 4 games, 3 victories, 1 draw, 0 defeats; 6 goals scored 1 goal against

France 0 Uruguay 0

South Africa 0 Uruguay 3

Mexico 0 Uruguay 1

Uruguay 2 Rep. Korea 1

Scorers: Forlan, (2), A. Pereira, Suarez (3)

Yellow cards – 4: Diego Lugano, Mauricio Victorino, Nicolas Lodeiro, Fucile

Subscribe to Pravda.Ru Telegram channel, Facebook, RSS!

Author`s name Editorial Team