"Drowsy Chaperone" receives 14 Drama Desk nominations

"The Drowsy Chaperone," an affectionate look by one man at his favorite old musical comedy, scored 14 Drama Desk nominations Thursday, honoring the best of the 2005-06 New York theater season.

It was followed by "Grey Gardens," a musical version of the film documentary about a reclusive mother and daughter, with 12 nominations.

Both shows were nominated for best musical by the organization of theater journalists and critics, along with "Jersey Boys," "See What I Wanna See," "Thrill Me" and "The Wedding Singer."

Best-play nominations went to "The History Boys" by Alan Bennett, "Stuff Happens" by David Hare, "No Foreigners Beyond This Point" by Warren Leight, "The Lieutenant of Inishmore" by Martin McDonagh, "Dedication or the Stuff of Dreams" by Terrence McNally and "The Pavilion" by Craig Wright.

Bob Martin, who portrays that fan in "The Drowsy Chaperone," nabbed a nomination for outstanding actor in a musical. His competition: Harry Connick Jr., "The Pajama Game"; Michael Cerveris, "Sweeney Todd"; Marc Kudisch, "See What I Wanna See"; Stephen Lynch, "The Wedding Singer"; and John Lloyd Young, "Jersey Boys." Martin received a second nomination as the co-author of the book for "The Drowsy Chaperone," along with Don McKellar.

Actress-musical nominations went to Nancy Anderson, "Fanny Hill"; Christine Ebersole, "Grey Gardens"; Sutton Foster, "The Drowsy Chaperone"; Patti LuPone, "Sweeney Todd"; Idina Menzel, "See What I Wanna See"; and Kelli O'Hara, "The Pajama Game."

Nominated for best actor in a play were Vince Gatton, "Candy & Dorothy"; John Glover, "The Paris Letter"; Richard Griffiths, "The History Boys"; Zeljko Ivanek, "The Caine Mutiny Court-Martial"; Nathan Lane, "Dedication or the Stuff of Dreams"; and Brian F. O'Byrne, "Shining City."

The actress-play nominations went to Margaret Colin, "Defiance"; Cherry Jones, "Faith Healer"; Jennifer Jason Leigh, "Abigail's Party"; Jan Maxwell, "Entertaining Mr. Sloane"; Lois Smith, "The Trip to Bountiful"; and Julie White, "The Little Dog Laughed."

The Drama Desk, which was founded in 1949, honors both Broadway and off-Broadway productions.

The awards show, hosted by Harvey Fierstein, will take place Sunday, May 21, at the F.H. LaGuardia Concert Hall at Lincoln Center, reports AP.


Subscribe to Pravda.Ru Telegram channel, Facebook, RSS!

Author`s name Editorial Team