Preki headlines MLS All-Time Best XI

Two-time MVP Preki headlined a group of five veterans selected to Major League Soccer's 10th anniversary team on Friday.

Preki joined fellow midfielder Jaime Moreno, defenders Eddie Pope and Jeff Agoos and goalkeeper Tony Meola. All have played every year since the league debuted.

Playing all but one of his 10 years with the Kansas City Wizards, Preki won the league's top player honor in 1997 and 2003, was a seven-time all-star, and was chosen to the MLS' postseason "Best XI" four times.

The All-Time Best XI, announced two days before the MLS Cup championship game, included nine players who started with the league in 1996.

Three of those have retired: Midfielders Marco Etcheverry and Carlos Valderrama and defender Marcelo Balboa, while forward Brian McBride, who played eight years with the Columbus Crew, moved to Fulham of the English Premier League in 2003.

In addition to the founding veterans, D.C. United coach Peter Nowak, who played five years with the Chicago Fire before retiring, also was selected, along with Los Angeles Galaxy midfielder Landon Donovan in the weighted vote of media, fans and coaches and general managers.

Donovan and the Galaxy will face the New England Revolution in Sunday's MLS Cup title match. Only 18 men have played in all 10 seasons of MLS, AP reports.

А. А.

Subscribe to Pravda.Ru Telegram channel, Facebook, RSS!

Author`s name Editorial Team