Kenseth sets qualifying record to win pole

Matt Kenseth set a track qualifying record in capturing the pole for the Banquet 400, hoping it will put him in position to win Sunday and get back into the race for the Chase for the Nextel Cup championship.

Kenseth is seventh in the standings, 111 points behind leader Tony Stewart. The last time Kenseth won a pole, he took the checkered flag, too. Now he'd like more of the same at the 1.5-mile tri-oval at Kansas Speedway.

The 2003 Winston Cup champion, whose uneventful title run led NASCAR to overhaul its title format, recorded his only victory this year on Aug. 26 at Bristol. This is his third career pole.

The top five qualifiers all broke Jimmie Johnson's track record of 180.373 mph, set in 2003, but no other title contenders made it into the first two rows, and only half of the Chase field will start in the top 10.

Carl Edwards, sixth in the standings, will start fifth on Sunday. Greg Biffle, sitting fifth, will start eight. Stewart will start ninth, and defending champion Kurt Busch - 10th in the standings and all but out of contention to repeat - qualified 10th.

Edwards, who won a Craftsman Truck Series race here last year, said he took a conservative approach to qualifying after seeing Kasey Kahne and Denny Hamlin crash. Ryan Newman, who trails Stewart by only 4 points, will start 11th. Jeremy Mayfield, eighth in the standings, qualified 14th, with ninth-place Mark Martin starting 19th. Third-place Rusty Wallace will have the most ground to make up Sunday after qualifying 33rd in the 43-car field.

Two drivers chasing 11th place, and the $1 million bonus that goes with it, qualified second and third. Elliott Sadler, the first to break Johnson's record Saturday, will start on the outside front after running a quick lap of 180.717 mph in his Ford. Jeff Gordon, winner of the first two Cup races here, had a quick lap of 180.469 mph in his Chevrolet and will start third.

Scott Wimmer qualified fourth, followed by Edwards, Kevin Joe Nemechek, who swept the Busch and Nextel Cup races here last year, qualified 16th for the race, AP reports. Lepage, Denny Hamlin, Biffle, Stewart and Busch. Defending race winner Joe Nemechek, who swept the Busch and Nextel Cup races here last year, qualified 16th for the race, AP reports.

A. A.

Subscribe to Pravda.Ru Telegram channel, Facebook, RSS!

Author`s name Editorial Team