Russian State Duma ratifies agreements on Russian-Lithuanian border

The State Duma of Russia on Wednesday ratified the Agreement between the Russian Federation and the Lithuanian Republic about the Russian-Lithuanian state border and the agreement with Lithuania on division of the exclusive economic zone and continental shelf in the Baltic sea.

The decision was adopted by 268 votes, with 138 votes against and 1 abstention.

The agreements were signed on October 24, 1997, in Moscow by Presidents of Russia and Lithuania Boris Yeltsin and Algirdas Brazauskas.

The explanatory memorandum to the document points out that the agreements do not provide for any territorial concessions to Lithuania, that, is for ceding territory without adequate reimbursement.

The state border on land is the same as the previous administrative border on maps from 1963.

The division line between Russia and Lithuania in the Baltic Sea has been set for the first time.

Within the framework of the agreement, the parties compensate to each other the total of 423.8 hectares by exchange of small plots. For example, the agreement assigns the perspective D6 oil and gas field to the Russian economic zone. It secures Russia's right to develop it without hindrance.

Subscribe to Pravda.Ru Telegram channel, Facebook, RSS!

Author`s name Editorial Team