23 parties registered in Russia

As of now, Russia has 23 registered political parties, chairman of the Central Election Commission Alexander Veshniakov told a press conference in Moscow. It was held on the first anniversary of the law On Political Parties coming into force.

Only eight of these 23 parties have been "finally" registered, said Veshniakov. They are -- the Single Russia, KPRF, LDPR, Popular Party, Democratic Party, Conservative Party, of Peace and Unity, Russian Party of Peace, said Alexander Veshniakov.

Such well-known parties as the Union of Right Forces and Yabloko have not yet presented information on registration of their branches in over 50 percent of Russia's regions. The chairman of the Central Election Commission recalled that in the next elections to the State Duma only those political parties will participate which have taken shape by the start of the election campaign, or early September 2003.

Subscribe to Pravda.Ru Telegram channel, Facebook, RSS!

Author`s name Editorial Team