EU Commission has defined a group of most favoured countries which may be allowed to join the respected organization without delay. Among those 12 countries, the chances of Estonia, Hungary, Poland, Malta and Cyprus looks especially high, RBC reports. Among major criteria for being accepted are a developed market economy, minimal state interference, honour for human rights. As for Czechia, Lithuania and Slovakia, the commission thinks they have too high inflation, price instability and low budgetary discipline. As for Bulgaria, it is believed to be affected with corruption. Latvia and Slovenia are also refereed to as “second priority” - their economy is regarded as underdeveloped, many goods being incompetitive. So, having rushed from socialism to the bright future of capitalism, our former Warsaw Pact friends hoped Europe would accept them with open arms. However, Europe thinks it is no rush and prefers to keep the candidates at the distance.

Subscribe to Pravda.Ru Telegram channel, Facebook, RSS!

Author`s name Editorial Team