European Union: Foreign Ministers Discuss Enlargement Eastwards

The Foreign Ministers of the 15 European Union member states reached agreement on the institutional aspects of EU expansion eastwards on Tuesday. The financial issues will be discussed later this week at the Brussels summit, according to Pravda.Ru sources in Brussels.

A common position on agricultural subsidies, structural funds, cohesion fund subsidies and budgetary compensations will be finalised during the Brussels summit on Thursday and Friday. On Tuesday, in Luxemburg, the 15 Foreign Ministers agreed on main guidelines for the respective distribution of power within an enlarged EU.

It was also agreed that the first wave of ten countries is to begin formal accession negotiations with the EU in Copenhagen in December. This group of countries is composed of Estonia, Lithuania, Latvia, Poland, Hungary, the Czech republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Malta and Cyprus.

The position on the future accession of Romania, Bulgaria and Turkey will be made at the summit.


Subscribe to Pravda.Ru Telegram channel, Facebook, RSS!

Author`s name Editorial Team