Nizhny Novgorod launches assembly of Mercedes-Benz Sprinter

The Nizhny Novgorod automotive cluster has taken another step in its development. The production of Mercedes-Benz Sprinter vans was launched on 15 July 2013 on the basis of JSC GAZ. Each year, the factory plans to assemble up to 25,000 cars. 

"Creating such modern productions is a step towards the execution of the order to create high-performance workplaces," Governor Valery Shantsev said.

To date, the development of the automotive industry in the region does not receive required attention. As Valery Shantsev noted, the industry overcame consequences of the global crisis. Productions are reviving. For example, such companies as Volkswagen have returned to the region.

"GAZ already assembles Škoda Yeti and Chevrolet Aveo. Now we have Mercedes-Benz Sprinter. The Nizhny Novgorod region was the leader in sales of commercial vans before, and now we will be able to offer an alternative to the widely spread GAZell vans. In addition, the new production has led to the creation of 1,700 new jobs for the Nizhny Novgorod," said Valery Shantsev.

It is worth mentioning that in May 2012, Vladimir Putin set a goal to increase productivity by 2018 1.5 times. The Nizhny Novgorod region plans to raise this figure twice.

"GAZ, one of the leaders of our industry, introduced the system of "economical production" ten years ago. In June of this year, an agreement was signed between GAZ Group and the government of the Nizhny Novgorod region in the field of distribution of the economical production system for other businesses in the region. This is one of the steps towards the implementation of president's orders," Governor Shantsev said.

The launch of the new line will bring 190 million euro of investment in the region.

Russia-assembled Mercedes-Benz Sprinter minibuses will be sold on the territory of the Russian Federation in the first place. In the future, it is planned  to enter the markets of Belarus and Ukraine.

Subscribe to Pravda.Ru Telegram channel, Facebook, RSS!

Author`s name Editorial Team