Shanghai Cooperation Organization to Discuss Military Confidence-Building Measures in Bishkek

Representatives of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization's member countries are to discuss military confidence-building measures and troop cuts in borderline areas. This discussion will take place within the framework of the eighth session of the joint monitoring group. The Shanghai Cooperation Organization comprises five countries, i.e. Russia, Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan.

Talking to RIA Novosti, officials at the Kyrgyz Foreign Ministry's press center noted that the springtime session will discuss the implementation of the agreement on enhancing borderline military confidence-building measures and the agreement on mutual borderline troop cuts. Both documents were signed by the Russian, Kazakh, Chinese, Kyrgyz and Tajik heads of state.

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization's representatives will discuss specific ways of streamlining information interaction; among other things, this concerns dangerous military incidents along the Chinese border.

Subscribe to Pravda.Ru Telegram channel, Facebook, RSS!

Author`s name Editorial Team