Minsk To Host Meeting Of Security Council Secretaries Of Countries On Collective Security Treaty

Interaction of the anti-terrorist efforts being taken in the wake of the Afghanistan operation and the struggle against drugs traffic are the issues that will dominate the agenda of a meeting of the committee of the security council secretaries of the countries on the Collective Security Treaty, DKB, due in Belarus' capital Minsk, December 6-7. The signatories to the Treaty are Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrghyzstan, Tajikistan and Armenia. Also prominent at the meeting will be harmonization of extradition and money laundering-related laws. This consultative body of the Collective Security Council held its maiden meeting on September 28, 2000. The committee, its members say, has been designed as a major coordinator of efforts by the lawenforcement agencies of the DKB member countries, promoting efficiency of the joint response to new challenges and rebuff to threats to national, regional and international security, primarily to international terrorism".