Guild of America announces honorees

The Producers Guild of America went ahead and made his day, choosing Clint Eastwood as the recipient of its highest honor.

Eastwood will receive the Milestone Award for his contributions to the entertainment industry, it was announced Wednesday.

Roger Corman and Norman Lear also will receive honors at the Guild's 15th Annual PGA Awards.

Eastwood became an icon in the 1970s with his portrayal of a tough-guy police detective in "Dirty Harry," a film that inspired four sequels. He went on to become a two-time Academy Award-winning director, most recently for 2004's "Million Dollar Baby," which also won Best Picture.

Past Milestone Award recipients include Jeffrey Katzenberg, Warren Beatty, Jack Valenti and Steven Spielberg.

Corman, who has produced hundreds of films and TV shows, will receive the David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures. Past honorees include Laura Ziskin, Dino De Laurentiis, Brian Grazer and Jerry Bruckheimer.

Lear, the Emmy Award-winning producer of "All in the Family," will be presented the Producers Guild Achievement Award in Television. Past recipients include John Wells, Lorne Michaels, Aaron Spelling and David E. Kelley.

Nominees for Producer of the Year will be announced Jan. 4, 2006. The 15th Annual PGA Awards will be presented January 22, AP reports.

А. А.