Ceremony of Cinematographic Prize Nika Presentation to Take Place in Moscow

The ceremony of presenting the annual film award NIKA will take place in Moscow, in the recently opened House of Music on the Red Hills.

As it was disclosed at the press conference by the founder and permanent head of the NIKA awarding ceremony, Yuly Gusman, the winners of the two most honorary awards had been already decided. The NIKA in the nomination of "For Honour and Dignity" has been awarded to well-known writer, playwright and scenario writer Boris Vasilyev. The NIKA in the nomination "For the Contribution to Cinematographic Science, Criticism and Education" has been awarded to Professor Viktor Komar.

Yuly Gusman also noted, that this year, in his opinion, there is no absolute leader, as it was last time when practically all prizes went to Alexander Sokurov and his film "Taurus." However, there are about a dozen of outstanding films, which represent the face of the Russian cinematography. They are "The War" by Alexander Balabanov, "The Star" by Nikolai Lebedev, "Cuckoo" by Alexander Rogozhkin, "The Lover" by Valery Todorovsky and "The Chekhov Motives" by Kira Muratova.

Five films, nominated for the NIKA, have been presented by film studios of Armenia, Kazakhstan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan and Latvia.

Three film directors will vie for the title of the best: Alexei Balabanov, Alexander Rogozhkin and Valery Todorovsky.

Renata Litvinova, Nina Usatova and Ani-Christine Yuso have been nominated for "The Best Woman's Role." Sergei Garmash, Konstantin Khabensky and Oleg Yankovsky have been nominated for "The Best Man's Role."

Subscribe to Pravda.Ru Telegram channel, Facebook, RSS!

Author`s name Editorial Team