Putin signs Collective Security Treaty Organization ratification bill into law

President Vladimir Putin has signed into law the federal bill "On the Ratification of the Charter of the Collective Security Treaty (CST) Organization," passed by the State Duma, or the lower house of parliament, on April 25 and approved by the Federation Council upper house on May 14, the presidential press service told RIA Novosti.

The charter effectively founds the international regional Collective Security Treaty Organization, identifies its main goals and principles, areas of activity, governing bodies, decision-making procedures, membership criteria, and its legal entity and governs a range of other issues related to the Organization's activities.

The President also signed into law the bill "On the Ratification of the Agreement on the Legal Status of the Collective Security Treaty Organization," passed by the Duma on April 25 and approved on May 14 by the Federation Council, the Kremlin press service announced.

The agreement lays down the provisions governing the legal entity, the privileges and the immunities of the Organization, its appointed officials and personnel, and member-state representatives participating in events conducted in the Organization's framework, as well as setting the principles of labor relations and social security for Organization officials and personnel.

Members of the CST are Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Armenia.

Subscribe to Pravda.Ru Telegram channel, Facebook, RSS!

Author`s name Editorial Team