Sport » Soccer

CSKA celebrates championship

CSKA celebrates championship. 52794.jpeg

Any three of the top teams (CSKA Moskva, Zenit Saint Petersburg and Lokomotiv Moskva) could have won the Russian Premier League. In an exciting finish to the season, CSKA stormed over the line in first place, leaving André Villas-Boas at Zenit with a very bitter taste in his mouth. Leonid Slutsky does it again!

Russian Premier League (After 30 matches - Final result)

Champion: CSKA Moskva

André Villas-Boas needed a win and a draw. He got the win for Zenit at Kuban - 4-1 away but in the match between CSKA Moskva and Lokomotiv, the home side came out winners, by 1-0 and CSKA is champion for the twelfth time.

La Liga (After 38 matches - Final result)

Champion: Atlético Madrid

Barcelona 1 Atlético 1; Real Madrid 3 Espanyol 1. Atlético clinched the title, winning at Barcelona's Nou Camp. With Sevilla winning the Europa League last week, next Saturday Atlético and Real Madrid will play the Champions League final in Lisbon, ensuring that all the honours go to Spanish teams this season.

Premiership (After 38 matches - Final result)

Champion: Manchester City FA Cup-Winner: Arsenal

Manchester City (86) regains the Premier League title with a 2-0 win against West Ham United; Liverpool (84) is second, after winning at home 2-1 against Newcastle United; third is Chelsea (82), 2-1 victor at Cardiff City and fourth, Arsenal, winning 2-0 at Norwich City (relegated). Van Gaal takes the reins at Manchester United with a three-year contract. Ryan Giggs will be his assistant coach.

Bundesliga (After 34 matches - Final result)

Champion: Bayern Munich

Bayern finished the season with a victory over Stuttgart (1-0) and have 90 points; Borussia Dortmund (71) won 4-0 in Berlin at Hertha's stadium and FC Schalke 04 (64) beat Nürnberg 4-1 in Gelsenkirchen.

Serie A (After 38 matches - Final result)

Champion: Juventus

Juventus 3 Cagliari 0; Genova 1 Roma 0; Napoli 5 Verona 1. No change at the top on the last day of the season, with Juventus' victory a foregone conclusion.

Ligue 1 (After 38 matches - Final result)

Champion: Paris Saint-Germain

PSG 4 Montpellier 0; Lorient 1 LOSC Lille 4; Monaco 1 Bordeaux 1

Primeira Liga (After 30 matches - Final result)

Champion: Benfica Portuguese Cup: Benfica  Portuguese League Cup: Benfica

Benfica 74, Sporting CP 67, FC Porto 61. FC Porto capped a dreadful transition season with a home victory over Benfica (2-1) and Sporting lost at home to Estoril Praia 1-0, which finished fourth.

Dutch League: First Division Champions AFC Ajax

 Turkish League (After 34 matches - Final result)

Champion: Fenerbahçe

Fenerbahçe (74 points) won the Turkish league ahead of Galatasaray AS (65) and Besiktas JK (62).

In Azerbaijan, after 36 games (Final result) the Championship belongs to Qarabag with 72 points, Inter Baki PIK is second, with 67 points. Qäbälä is third, with 61.

In Armenia, after 28 games (Final result),  FC Banants is Champion (50), 3 points clear of FC Shirak and FC Mika, with 47 points.

 Photo: CSKA Coach Leonid Slutsky

Timothy Bancroft-Hinchey



| More

Popular photos

Most popular

Putin: Russia wants no war, but continues building up armed forces
Putin: Russia wants no war, but continues building up armed forces
Russia intends to continue to build up military and nuclear capabilities. This is required for security, not for attacks, he said. Estimating the actions of the Ukrainian military in south-eastern...
Putin addresses Novorossiya militia with special message
Putin addresses Novorossiya militia with special message
Russian President Vladimir Putin addressed the "militia of Novorossiya." The text of his address appeared on the Kremlin website on Friday night, August 29. Putin rarely makes such addresses...


Popular photos

Система Orphus